Dragon Fruit? DRAGON FRUIT.

We LOVE dragon fruit!

Have you ever tried it?  The first time I ever tried dragon fruit, I hadn’t even heard of it before.  I was on vacation with my parents in Vietnam, and the whole experience was magical.  There were so many delicious things to taste, and all the fresh fruit was probably my favorite.  Walking through the farmer’s market, I’d spot dozens of produce items I’d never seen in the States.  Some required an adventurous disposition; if you don’t know anything about durian, for example, I strongly suggest avoiding it.  I’ll just leave this right here for you and wait…

Now that you can’t unlearn that (raw sewage?!), I’ll continue.  Other discoveries at the market were immediately appealing to the eye and the flavor payoff was just as satisfying–like the adorable and tasty dragon fruit.  Click through for a closer look.

-Viv

 ***********************************

When I saw dragon fruit at 99 Ranch Market the other day, it brought back fond memories of my visit to Vietnam.  They look like the fruit of some kind of cactus plant, because that’s pretty much what they are:

But the inside is such a cute, bespeckled, tiny-polka-dotted suprise!

I bet you weren’t expecting it to look like that, right?  You’ll want to remove the peel and cut it up into bite-sized pieces.  Alternatively, you could just serve it “on the half shell” with a spoon and scoop out the flesh like you would a grapefruit. I’m lazy (errrm…efficient) so that’s what I’d do if I weren’t taking photos to show you here!

There are lots of other things you can do with dragon fruit.  Punch up your next pot-luck offering with a tropical fruit salad that includes pineapple, mango, and dragon fruit.  Make a cocktail with it. Muddling is all the rage, you know.  Throw it in the blender with the rest of your ingredients next time you make a smoothie.  Yum!

Bonus:  Dragon fruit is low in calories, high in fiber and antioxidants, and has numerous other purported health benefits.  Get it, girl.

After all that, you probably want to know what dragon fruit tastes like, right?  The flavor is mild, like a melon or prickly pear (another cactus fruit).  Some people think it tastes like kiwi, but it’s possible that’s a texture thing.  The seeds are edible and crunchy like kiwi seeds, and the flesh is sort of firm and tender at the same time, like kiwi fruit but not as stringy.  It’s obviously kind of hard to describe, so I highly recommend tracking some dragon fruit down and trying it for yourself, because WE LOVE THIS STUFF!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

