Kale Salad with Beets, Avocado, and Orange

imageWe LOVE this salad!

I know kale is super trendy, but I don’t care. I love it.  This salad is delicious and good for you!  Plus, we’ve already made a couple indulgent food posts, so we’re overdue for a healthy recipe. I was inspired by my recent trip to Underwood Farms, which is where I got all the produce for this dish except for the kale.  I even picked the beets myself!

Click through to learn how to make this light meal that’s perfect for a summertime lunch. Bonus–or not, depending on how you look at things–it’s also (accidentally) vegan.

-Viv

**************************************

It’s always wise to gather up your ingredients before you begin.

You'll need kale, beets, an avocado, an orange, mustard, oil, and vinegar.  You don't have to use exactly what I used, though.
You’ll need kale, beets, an avocado, an orange, mustard, oil, and vinegar. You don’t have to use exactly what I used, though. Not pictured: salt, pepper, minced garlic, cooking spray.

Wash and cut up the beets, then coat them with the cooking spray of your choice and season with salt and pepper.  Roast on a foil-lined pan at 400 degrees for 20-30 minutes.

I cut them kind of small, because I was hungry and wanted them to roast quickly so I could sooner!
Look how cute the candy striped beets are! I cut them kind of small, because I was hungry and wanted them to roast quickly so I could eat sooner.  I threw in some radishes and a turnip I accidentally picked from the farm.  No big deal, they all play well together.

While the oven is working its magic and caramelizing all the natural sweetness in your root veggies, you can whip up your dressing.  Like most things I make, this doesn’t have to be exact.  I started with a few turns of the pepper mill, a pinch of salt, and a dab of Dijon mustard.  Then I whisked in 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 3 tablespoons of vinegar.  I also added a tiny bit of minced garlic.  You can customize all of this to your taste.  Feel free to be creative and add other ingredients like fresh herbs or citrus juice as well.  I like to dress the kale right away because it’s so hardy; that way it has time to get a little wilted and tender.  If you’re using regular salad greens, you should wait until just before serving.

After making the dressing, you’ll probably still have enough time to remove the peels and cut your orange and avocado into slices.  I only used half of each and half the dressing so I don’t have to make lunch tomorrow, yay!  I also saved half of the roasted veggies for tomorrow’s lunch.  Don’t they look delicious?

Pro tip: You can roast almost any vegetable the way you did these. It’s so easy, and they come out delicious every time! Try it with fennel, butternut squash, Brussels sprouts, potatoes, or sweet potatoes.

The moment of truth:  Top your dressed kale with the roasted beets, orange slices, and avocado slices.  Dig in, and feel yourself getting skinnier (I mean healthier) with every bite!

 

image

Leave us a comment if you try this salad and/or make any customizations.  We hope you enjoy it, because you already know WE LOVE THIS STUFF!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

7 thoughts on “Kale Salad with Beets, Avocado, and Orange

Leave a Reply

