Easy Peasy Bunting Banner!

 

imageWe LOVE bunting! They’re bright, colorful and whimsical. I use them for every party I throw and every family photo shoot I plan. I’ve got them draped around my little guy’s bedroom as well as his reading nook. Bunting banners make an otherwise dull space bright, cheery, and colorful without too much work. I know this is not news or rocket science. A search for “bunting” on Pinterest or Etsy will produce more results than you care to scroll through. But since we LOVE DIY, why buy a bunting banner when you can make one? Read on for the details.

-Jen

*************************************************************

In the past I spent quite a bit of time making fabric bunting using a hot glue gun and rope or seam tape and a bunch of coordinating material that I painstakingly picked out. While the result was rad, the amount of time that it took me to prep oftentimes left me disinterested in the project. I’ve seen many tutorials online that teach you how to sew a fabric bunting, but I’m not good with a sewing machine and that method also seems like it would take as much time as making it with a hot glue gun.  I had almost given up on my bunting obsession when I was faced with making 3 different ones for three completely different occasions (yes, the struggle is REAL). I knew there had to be a faster way–other than just abandoning the project–that would produce a decent result, and that’s when it hit me! I could use a stapler to whip them out in no time!!! I know what you’re thinking, “The staples will show and it will defeat the purpose of a cute-crafty-party-decor-item.”  Not true.  You won’t see the staples; the bunting will be hung high enough to not notice them.  And let’s be honest, unless it’s me at your party, nobody is scrutinizing your crafty decor that closely. I didn’t even bother ironing the fabric, and while you can see some creases in my photos, I PROMISE no one will notice in person.  But if you’re obsessive about these things, go ahead an iron.  No one’s judging you either way!  DISCLAIMER:  Children should not play with the bunting as the staples could poke their precious little fingers.  This method is best suited for bunting that will be hung up out of reach of children.

Materials

This project will take about 15-20 minutes…unless you’re texting with your bestie while making it (guilty!)  In that case, it could take a bit longer, so grab a Diet Coke before you get started.

Directions

  • Choose complimentary and coordinating fabric.  Since I rocked this for the 4th of July, I went with traditional red, white, & blue colors.  I was able to pull fabric from my scraps–I bought all of this material at Joann’s last year and I’ve seen it there this year in their seasonal section.

IMG_2576

  • Download and print your bunting pattern & cut it out to the desired size.  I chose the 7.75″ size.
  • Fold your fabric in half and place the top of the pattern on the fold of the material.

IMG_2581 IMG_2582

  • Cut around the pattern, using the pattern as your guide.  You will have to hold the pattern on top of your fabric while cutting.  Be careful not to get too close to your fingers!

IMG_2584

  • When you are finished cutting, you will have yourself a triangle bunting flag.  If you did it correctly, when you unfold it, it will be in the shape of a diamond.

IMG_2585 IMG_2586

  • Complete these steps until you have the desired number of bunting flags.
  • Lay out your cut bunting flags to create a desired pattern.  Since I used scrap fabric, I went with a random pattern as I didn’t have enough of each type of fabric to repeat them consistently.  As you may notice, I decided not to use the bright red fabric because it did not coordinate properly for my taste.

IMG_2579

  • Grab your twine and stapler.
  • Starting about 12″ in, begin attaching your bunting flags.  You need at least a foot of twine on each side to allow you to tie it or tape it up.
  • Make sure the twine is inside your cut flag, at the fold of your fabric.

IMG_2587

  • Fold your fabric over the twine, and staple as close to the top as possible.  You don’t need to staple the twine and in fact it’s better if you don’t in case you need to adjust the placement of your bunting flags.  I stapled once on the left and once on the right to hold the twine inside and to keep the bunting flag closed.

IMG_2588

  • Continue above steps until you have a bunting flag banner in the desired length.
  • Unravel an additional foot of twine from the roll so that you have plenty of it to hang it from your desired location.

image image

This is one of my favorite projects because it’s fast, easy, and fun and it allows me to customize my party decor, which is why WE LOVE THIS STUFF!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Bunting Banner!

  1. Abigail July 16, 2015 / 12:17 pm

    It’s funny you posted this, I recently did a post on bunting flags too, but it was my first time making them, so mine were much worse!

    Like

  2. Jessica July 18, 2015 / 12:35 pm

    This looks so great! And I LOVE your mantel decor!! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

