Lentil, Tomato, and Feta Crostini

IMG_3581We LOVE crostini! What are crostini? They’re kinda fancy toasts. We LOVE kinda fancy toasts!

My gal pal Alana and I attended a wine tasting in the park recently, and I needed to throw together something appropriate for a picnic that would also travel well. I wanted to use what I had on hand instead of making a special trip to the store for specific ingredients that would slowly expire in the back of my fridge if I didn’t use them all right away. (I *know* you know what I’m talkin’ ’bout, Willis.) A quick brainstorm sesh and Google search yielded this “recipe,” which I riffed on for our crostini–ahem, kinda fancy toasts–which turned out delicious! Read on to see how you can be kinda fancy too.

-Viv

Ok, the Trader Joe’s recipe was embarrassingly easy, but this is too. I didn’t even measure anything. First, I cooked up a bunch of dried lentils from my pantry. I just covered them in water and followed the cooking times on the package.

Then, I cut up some cherry tomatoes I had left from my most recent trip to the grocery store.

Once the lentils were drained and cooled, I tossed them together with the tomatoes, some Italian dressing, and feta cheese. I don’t know how much. Enough. You can eyeball it and err on the side of caution, because it’s easier to add more than it is to take some away. Just taste as you go and tweak the amounts to your preference. Feel free to add salt, pepper, and anything else you think it needs at this point, too. 

While the lentil mixture was mingling flavors, I toasted up some baguette slices. These were already in my freezer. I just lined a cookie sheet with foil, sprayed the bread with olive oil, sprinkled with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and baked at 350° for 15 minutes.

That’s pretty much it. I think it could have used some fresh basil or mint, but remember, I was challenging myself to use what I had available. When we got to the park, we put the delicious lentil topping on our toasts and scarfed them down with our wine. This is what that looked like.

 

Anyway, hopefully this inspired you to whip up something kinda fancy with what you have on hand. If so, make sure to let us know, because if you can’t tell by now, WE LOVE THIS STUFF!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

Leave a Reply

