Succulents Save the Day! (Drought-Friendly Gardening)

We LOVE succulents!

With the recent heat wave that’s passing through my neck of the woods (Santa Clarita) and California’s strict landscape watering restrictions, my back yard looks like a cemetery from a really bad horror film.  Our grass is no longer salvageable and it’s become pointless to water it at all, given the reduced allowances.

Normally I wouldn’t care about my yard;  my general life rule is this:  I don’t garden and I won’t garden.  However, it’s looking so bad that i’m pretty sure I should sleep with one eye open because at any moment, zombies are going to ascend from it.  Keep reading to see my solution.

-Jen

**********************************************************

In an effort to keep the squatters from thinking my house is an abandoned property, I’ve decided I need to rethink my “general life rule” and turn it into something a little more like this: I’ll throw something that I don’t have to really pay attention to into a pot and hope for the best.  Enter, succulents.

Yep.  It turns out they’re as easy to neglect as my diet and fitness plan.  Uhh, but I advise against saying that out loud while shopping for succulents at Lowe’s.  The nice lady there lectured me about their care as if I was adopting a three-legged shelter dog.  In a nutshell, they need to be watered lightly at least once a week.  A good rule of thumb is to poke your finger into the soil.  If it’s damp, it doesn’t need water.  If it’s bone dry, throw some water in there.  Succulents don’t need much water and will start to mold & decay if they are given too much.  Oh and one thing I remember from the nice lady’s lecture:  They need a little more water in the hotter months.  Weird.

DISCLAIMER: Take everything I’m saying with a grain of salt.  I’m no expert.  This is really for those of you who are like me and have not had good luck with plants in the past.  I’ve had several succulent bowls for a few years and have managed to keep them alive with little to no effort (translation:  I’ve forgotten to water them for weeks at a time and they still look good).  That is an amazing statement of truth if you understand how really bad I am at keeping plants alive.

I recently got my succulents some friends to join them in their respective containers, and they’re going strong.  They add a beautiful touch to any outdoor seating area and because I’m writing about it, you can rest assured that they really require very little water or care.

So help out California (and the zombies), friends, and replace your thirsty grass and plants with some succulents.  They’re beautiful and easy to keep, which is why we LOVE this stuff!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2 thoughts on “Succulents Save the Day! (Drought-Friendly Gardening)

  1. atkokosplace July 25, 2015 / 11:26 pm

    Your succulents are stunning and so healthy looking! I too love them and the ease in propagating. Fantastic post! Love your writing style! Have a great weekend. Koko:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

