Super Simple Smoothie (You Can Customize)!

imageWe LOVE smoothies!  I could replace a meal with a smoothie every day for the rest of my life.  I won’t, but I could.

Today’s post is a quick and easy one.  I’ll share my smoothie “recipe,” which is really all about proportions, and give you ideas for how to customize it to your preference.  What I LOVE about this is how much less expensive it is to make smoothies at home, and how much more (potentially) nutritious your blended fruit and juice drink can be when you control what goes in it!

Click through for the details.

-Viv

imageOk, so here’s the “recipe,” if you will:

  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1 scant cup juice (fruit juice tastes best!)
  • 1 cup spinach or kale
  • 1 heaping cup frozen fruit

And here are the directions:

Blend, blend, blend until smooth!  That’s it.

Now, here are some ideas:

  • I usually use nonfat vanilla or strawberry Greek yogurt.  Sometimes I use plain and add a spoonful of honey so my smoothie isn’t too tart.  Blueberry yogurt would work great, too.  Try to pick a flavor that will complement the other ingredients you choose.  I’ve also used regular (non-Greek) yogurt, and there’s hardly any difference in the final result.
  • I feel like orange juice has a touch more nutritional value than other fruit juices, so that’s what I usually use, but who knows.  I’ve also used pineapple juice when I had it on hand.  Again, use something that goes with the other flavors in your smoothie. Do what you like!
  • I always have pre-washed bags of salad in the fridge, one of which is usually baby spinach, so that’s most often the green element in my smoothies.  I’ve also used kale in place of spinach, which is just as good.  Actually, you can’t really taste either one, but regular kale gives a little extra texture to the finished smoothie.
  • The frozen fruit I always keep on hand is 50/50 strawberries and bananas.  In the smoothie pictured, I used 2/3 cup of the strawberry-banana mix, along with 1/3 cup of frozen blueberries.  Bananas help give your smoothies a silky texture, so if you don’t hate them and/or aren’t allergic, I highly recommend including at least some bananas.  I’ve also used a combination of peach, mango, pineapple, and banana, which is great too.  Just make sure to blend everything really well so the texture is smooth, as the name of the drink suggests 😉
  • These proportions will make a smoothie that I think is just thick/thin enough.  If you like it thicker, use more frozen fruit or less juice.  If you like it thinner, use more juice or less fruit.  Same goes for richness:  If you like it creamier, use more yogurt or one with a higher fat content.
  • I don’t have any food allergies or aversions.  You can easily customize this to make it vegan and substitute any of the ingredients to accommodate any preferences or allergies.
  • I promised a simple recipe, and I think this delivers.  You can always experiment and add or substitute a few additional ingredients to make a fancier smoothie or one that suits your specific needs.  Some ideas to get you started:  protein powder, coconut, almonds, almond milk, coconut milk, coconut water, chia seeds, flax seeds, nutritional yeast, vanilla, spices, pumpkin puree/spices, peanut butter, cocoa powder, coffee.  Obviously these don’t all go together, but you get the idea about combining flavors you love.

Enjoy!  Let us know what combinations you try, because you know WE LOVE THIS STUFF!  (And we hope you do too!)

image

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Next week, we’ll show you how to make aromatherapy shower bombs, so stay tuned, or better yet subscribe!

One thought on “Super Simple Smoothie (You Can Customize)!

  1. Megan Earls November 6, 2015 / 9:20 pm

    Sounds delicious! I love smoothies too and try to drink one every morning with breakfast.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

