DIY Aromatherapy Shower Bombs

imageWe LOVE these shower bombs!

Lately, Mr. Viv has been under a lot of stress, so I whipped up some shower bombs to help soothe and relax him. They’re basically aromatherapy tablets that you place on the floor of the shower, and as they dissolve, they release soothing vapors into the steam.  I got the idea when I remembered we used to get these Sudacare Shower Soothers all the time. We both suffer from year round “seasonal” allergies, so we LOVED the decongestant menthol vapor.  SIDE NOTE 1: If you can find those suckers, the price is astronomical!  I guess they don’t make ’em anymore, which explains the insane markup on the ones that remain.  Even before the supply/demand issues made them unreasonably expensive, they weren’t the best value though. SIDE NOTE 2: I think baths are kinda gross, so I made these for use in the shower. You can totally use these in the bathtub if you’re a bath-y person, but you might also want to search the Internet for a bath-specific bomb recipe.  I’ve seen some for fizzy bath bombs (fun!) and some that use Epsom salts, which are great for soaking tired muscles.

Anyway, a quick Pinterest search will yield a ton of results for homemade aromatherapy shower bombs, shower disks, and bath bombs. Click through to see my version, which will save you buckets of money, AND you can customize the scent/purpose to your liking!

-Viv

*****************************

imageMATERIALS:

  • Mixing bowl
  • Baking soda
  • Essential oil(s) of your choice
  • Food coloring (optional)
  • Water
  • Silicone candy/baking/ice cube molds (or muffin tins, mini or regular)

Adapted from:  Practically Functional

Dump a box of baking soda into a bowl.  I never said the process would be elegant, but it’s super easy, so yay!

Mix in a few drops (to your desired potency) of your favorite essential oil.  Lavender for soothing and relaxation, mint or citrus to invigorate, and eucalyptus for decongestion.

HELPFUL HINT:  If you try these and find they aren’t potent enough, you can always add more drops of essential oil directly to each finished tablet/bomb later.  Also, Mr. Viv takes longer-than-average showers (sorry California drought), so he’s been using a second tablet to keep the soothing vapor going after the first one dissolves.  Next time I make these, I’ll use a regular muffin tin to make the tablets bigger.

image

Mix in ONLY enough water to moisten.  When you squeeze a handful of the mixture, it should form clumps that hold their shape.  If you add too much water, toss in a little more baking soda or you can just deal with the longer drying time later.  This is a forgiving project!

To make  pastel shower bombs worthy of gifting, you can also mix some drops of food into the water before adding it to the baking soda, like I did.

image image image

Spoon or scoop into molds of your choice, and then press FIRMLY (and by firmly I mean using Hulk-smash-strength).  Silicone makes unmolding foolproof, but I used nonstick mini muffin tins, which worked just fine.

image

Unmold immediately, and allow to dry COMPLETELY (no cheating!) before storing.  Ok, I lied.  I turned mine out onto an upside-down cookie sheet to air dry, but you could cheat and pop them in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or so.

image

This is a project we’ll repeat over and over because it’s cute, simple, cheap, fun, and useful, which is exactly why WE LOVE THIS STUFF!

 image

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

8 thoughts on “DIY Aromatherapy Shower Bombs

  1. liebalouisa January 8, 2016 / 6:46 pm

    This looks soo relaxing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gracereece99 April 26, 2016 / 2:31 am

    I love this! I only wish I had smashed the first batch down more (I didn’t smash enough so it bubbled ALL over my oven and made a huge mess), my second batch I smashed well and it did fine. Over all I like this 👍🏻 😀!

    Like

  3. gracereece99 April 26, 2016 / 2:34 am

    I’m making this right now and my kitchen smells AMAZING! I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE, this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

