Handmade Lip Balm

imageWe LOVE lip balm! I stumbled on this idea on Pinterest, I think. I’ve seen lots of “recipes” that involve mixing Kool-Aid and petroleum jelly, which sounds awful to me, so I wasn’t really interested in DIY lip balm at first. There are lots of less gross but more complicated tutorials out there, but this was so simple and not-gross that I had to try it. I’m planning to add them to people’s Christmas gifts this year, and you still have time to do the same!

Keep reading to find out how.

-Viv

*****************************

imageMATERIALS:

  • Microwave safe bowl or cup (preferably with pouring spout)
  • 5 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons cosmetic grade beeswax (I got mine here)
  • Essential oil(s) of your choice (optional, but read warning below if you opt in*)
  • Containers of your choice (I got mine here)

Adapted from:  The Seasoned Mom

INSTRUCTIONS:

imageMelt the coconut oil and beeswax together in your microwave safe container.  Work in 30-second intervals, stirring if needed, to avoid scorching.

Add essential oil(s) to your desired potency, if using.  *WARNING: Be sure to research which ones are safe to apply topically.  Avoid anything irritating or phototoxic. Also, some oils aren’t safe for children or pregnant women, so please do your homework or just err on the side of caution and skip the essential oils!  This will work perfectly fine without the added fragrance, especially because beeswax and coconut oil naturally smell great already!

If your microwave safe container doesn’t have a pouring spout, the next step will be easier if you transfer the mixture to one that does, or you can use a small funnel. I just happen to have a flask funnel (which I’m sure does not surprise you), so I used that.

Pour into containers and allow to set.

For a softer balm, use more coconut oil, but keep in mind it liquifies around 75-76 degrees Fahrenheit.  If you live in a particularly warm area or plan to make twist-up tubes of lip balm, use more beeswax for a firmer consistency.

MEASURING HACK:  I melted the beeswax first so I could measure it as a liquid.  It turned out one of those bars was exactly 3 tablespoons.  I tried using a cheese grater so I could measure the shavings, but the wax was too hard.  You could also just buy beeswax in tiny pellet or pastille form, which makes measuring and melting much easier.

image

This was so much fun, and these make such cute little gifts!  I packaged each pot of lip balm with a homemade brown sugar lip scrub, which I’ll show you in another post.  We can’t wait to hear how you like this idea, because you already know WE LOVE THIS STUFF!

image

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

14 thoughts on “Handmade Lip Balm

  1. atkokosplace December 25, 2015 / 6:54 pm

    DIY lip balm is the BOMB! Teehee. Well done! Cheers, Koko❀

    Like

  2. Brittany December 25, 2015 / 7:09 pm

    Great post! I’m with you, I hate those hacky DIY posts that advocate using nasty or inappropriate ingredients just because they’re cheap or easy to acquire. Yuck! DIY lip balm done right is simply the best!

    Like

  3. Vicki December 30, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    I used to make these when I had my soap making business, they were fab! X

    Like

  4. 2843titi April 23, 2016 / 12:17 am

    I liked that idea it is pretty cool

    Like

  5. foxxy305 June 1, 2016 / 5:48 am

    What a great idea! I’ve always hesitated making lip balm with my twins due to the not so healthy ingredients 😊

    Like

  6. elisapetatalks June 13, 2016 / 8:04 am

    Wow, this looks great! Simple but using natural quality ingredients – defs going to give it a try 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

